Skip to content

Slickness, shininess and streamlining

January 23, 2010

I was browsing through my old blog posts on my personal blog and came across this article I wrote at the start of last year:

I came across this blog the other day and read an article that I thought was very on the button about overly glitzed up presentation, as a result of demands from “people who are more concerned with you having slides that “look good” rather than slides that get the message across effectively”

The article reminded me about a few sentences from the book “Coming up for air” by George Orwell. While in a cafe and taking in the surrounding atmosphere, the main character makes an observation about the way the modern world is heading. Sitting there he notices:
A sort of propaganda floating round, mixed up with the noise of the radio, to the effect that food doesn’t matter, comfort doesn’t matter, nothing matters except slickness and shininess and streamlining.

I think this is the way that a large portion of presenters, journalists and people in general think: it’s not the facts, the food – it’s the slickness, shininess and streamlining.

In summary the food does matter… and all this talk of food makes me want to go get some lunch, which I think I will go and do now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 2:17 am

    ‘It’s not the steak, it’s the sizzle!’ – I remember watching an actor playing Bill Clinton say this on Saturday Night Live. It’s amazing how one funny little sentence can some up many people deal with presentations and speeches.

    I like this article since it serves as a great reminder for all of us to remember our core message and make sure that everything in our presentations contribute to it. Great article!

Leave a Reply

