Skip to content

A recent client success – a reminder of why I love what I do

May 12, 2011

I got some great news recently, one of my clients, Scrazzl – who I helped create a presentation from scratch – won €20k in funding by finishing second in the wonderful NDRC Launchpad programme. Needless to say I was ecstatic for David and his team.

I really enjoyed working on the presentation below (some of the slides are confidential for a bit longer yet) as the CEO David fully bought in to the importance of keeping things simple, visual and memorable, and showing off features of the software rather than trying to describe them through bullet points! And of course on top of all that Scrazzl is a fantastic software product that connects scientific products, publications and people and does a very good job of selling itself!

I have said it before and I will say it again, but I really enjoy running my own business. It beats the crap out of working for someone else, and especially working for someone else in a big faceless organisation. What’s more, I also really enjoy working with other people that run their own businesses too, which is great because I get to do that a lot.

On a side note – through working with a lot of startups it has occurred to me that Ireland is doing a lot right in terms of fostering entrepreneurship and I have worked with some really smart people, but we need more Scrazzls coming out of this country, and that just isn’t going to happen without giving adequate government time, effort and money to get the ball rolling – but that is another days rant.

The question “what would you do if you didn’t need to earn money” is always thrown around by career councillors, and I suppose it is a valid question. When thinking about that recently I came to the conclusion that my answer would be “to encourage more people to start their own business” and of course “to help people make a success of their business”.

The recent success of Scrazzl (and the past success of other great clients) reminded me that by helping people present their businesses in a simple, clear and engaging manner I am at least helping to fulfil the latter half of my aims.

If you have a presentation that could do with a makeover why not try out our free trial, or if you need to create one from scratch, like David and Scrazzl, why not email me at Ed@clearpreso.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 4:36 pm

    Great slides and great to hear your story. Kudos!

  2. June 2, 2011 11:48 pm

    Hello Ed,
    Feel like I know you. I have visited your site several times and admired the quality of your work. This presentation for Scrazzl was amazing once again. What I like about your presentations is that there is always an element of surprise for the viewer. For example, in the beginning when you were showing where Kate worked, the pop ups that said Buy Me were very effective in learning what Kate’s role is. Also your use of color is very snappy!
    Like it, a lot.

Leave a Reply

