Skip to content

A look at Dublin Contemporary 2011

September 17, 2011

I should start this post by telling you three things.

  1. I am grumpy and dislike most things
  2. I am not the typical type of person who goes to art exhibitions
  3. I received a grand tour of Dublin Contemporary and really enjoyed it.

Those last fact alone should inform you that a visit to Dublin Contemporary is worth a visit.

One thing I did not expect was the sheer scale of the exhibition, it’s pretty gigantic and inhabits multiple rooms, corridors and floors of Earlsfort terrace, which I presume is an interesting enough place to walk around even when there is no art on show. I spent an hour being guided (by the wonderful Zaynab) around from piece to piece, but in reality if you were so inclined you could spend a whole day there pottering around and checking out the many video pieces.

I fear it is probably because I am a bit of a simpleton, but for the most part I appreciated the pieces on a purely visual basis, the intended deep meaning of certain pieces just… didn’t work for me, but the pieces are so interesting to look at that that doesn’t really matter. It didn’t to me in any case.

So without further ado, here are a few snaps I took, Dubcon really is a photographers dream, my skills (or lack thereof) don’t do the exhibition justice.

You can check out an entire floor of their stuff for free so you don’t have good reason to not go and check it out if you happen to be in the City centre. So I would say go give it a visit while it is still there which is until the end of October, and check out the site http://www.dublincontemporary.com/ for more details than I have been able to give here.

Also if you are fond of a tweet or two, check them out on twitter

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 10:57 am

    So glad you enjoyed the show, and the tour.
    Great pics too- we’ve a photo competition you might like to enter them into? http://www.flickr.com/groups/dubcon11
    Winners get their work displayed in Earlsfort Terrace for the last week of the exhibition.

Leave a Reply

